Free Shipping On Orders Over $45
 Home  Contact Us Shipping Info View Cart Search    
THE ONLY KAYAK: A JOURNEY INTO THE HEART OF ALASKA
Item #:24807
Your Price:$16.95
 
Quantity: 

Basic shipping only. What's this?
THE ONLY KAYAK: A JOURNEY INTO THE HEART OF ALASKA

Author: Kim Heacox
Publisher: GLOBE PEQUOT ( THE LYONS PRESS, FALCON), May 2006
Binding: Softcover
ISBN: 1-59228-894-4

Synopsis
Award-winning author Kim Heacox asks "What does it mean to fall in love with a place that cannot stay the same?" 8 pg. color & B&W insert; 6x9 inches, 280 pgs.

More Information
In this coming-of-middle-age memoir, Kim Heacox, writing in the tradition of Abbey, McPhee, and Thoreau, discovers an Alaska reborn from beneath a massive glacier, where flowers emerge from boulders, moose swim fjords, and bears cross crevasses with Homeric resolve. In such a place Heacox finds that people are reborn too, and their lives begin anew with incredible journeys, epiphanies, and successes. All in an America free of crass commercialism and overdevelopment.

Braided through the larger story are tales of gold prospectors and the cabin they built sixty years ago; John Muir and his intrepid terrier, Stickeen; and a dynamic geology professor who teaches earth science "as if every day were a geological epoch."

Nearly two million people come to Alaska every summer, some on large cruise ships, some in single kayaks--all in search of the last great wilderness, the Africa of America. It is exactly the America Heacox finds in this story of paradox, love, and loss.

WHAT THE EXPERTS ARE SAYING:
"[A] tender chronicle of a miracle in process, with glints of its rarity thrown by the handful from these pages."--Kirkus Reviews

"Writer and photographer Heacox delivers a genuine, deeply moving account of the past twenty-five years he has spent living in Glacier Bay, Alaska."--Publishers Weekly

"'Make access easy, and a place dies,' is his motto, and therein lies the paradox that Heacox tries to resolve in this book. . . . As he wrestles with such conundrums, Heacox creates a nicely balanced environmental portrait of Alaska's ice-cut coast."--Booklist

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Kim Heacox,
is the award-winning author of several nonfiction books and the novel Caribou Crossing. His feature articles have appeared in Audubon, Travel & Leisure, Wilderness, Islands, Orion, and National Geographic Traveler. His editorials, written for the Los Angeles Times, have appeared in many major newspapers across the United States. When not playing the guitar, doing simple carpentry, or writing another novel, he's sea kayaking with Melanie, his wife of nearly twenty years, or watching a winter wren on the woodpile.


 
Other Items That May Interest You
 
Morell Medium Fly BoxMorell Small Fly BoxMorell Large Fly Box
Morell Medium Fly Box
 
Your Price: $11.99 
Qty:   Color: 
Morell Small Fly Box
 
Your Price: $10.99 
Qty:   Color: 
Morell Large Fly Box
 
Your Price: $12.99 
Qty:   Color: 
Dry & Apply - Fly Dryer and Powder FloatantSerious Anglers Rastaman Strike IndicatorsFly Goo - Premium Gel Floatant
Dry & Apply - Fly Dryer and Powder Floatant
 
Your Price: $5.99 
Qty:   
Serious Anglers Rastaman Strike Indicators
 
Your Price: $4.49 
Qty:   Size: 
Fly Goo - Premium Gel Floatant
Regular Price: $3.99 
Your Price: $3.99 
Qty: